Not Knowing Where To Begin

This is just the beginning of something not yet to be fully comprehended. I write for myself in the end. But I also feel that my writings could offer something through this blog. As an assignment for our Folklore class, we are given the choice to do a project involving or relating to Food.

I thought I could do a weekly blog involving food and how it relates to everyday living. I am Tohono O’odham, but I am also a 25-year-old male attending the University of Arizona. I lived in Arizona my whole life, on and off the Rez. I feel it’s important to learn where you come from and to know your culture. However I also am just a poor college kid trying to be successful. My perspectives are all over the grid.

My brother took the picture.

The assignment we were given is pretty much what we choose. I have always had a fascination with food. Well don’t we all. But I noticed that the way we acquire food now is not quite the same as our ancestors did in the past. Even growing up food was such a large chunk of my life.

Through the semester I think it would be fun to tear apart these clichés that are related to food. For example “You are what you eat.” Does this saying still make sense? From my point of view it still holds up. I can honestly say that what you eat can be a reflection of yourself.

Food has a history before it reaches your mouth. That history is yours to embrace or neglect. Whether you grew it in your own garden or it was harvest by some field worker in Mexico, the choice to know where your food is from is very much a reflection of the knowledge of what you take in. So the saying, “You are what you eat” makes sense when it applies to being aware of what you put in your mouth.

Food influences our well-being and how I wanted to use this blog was to capture these moments in my life when food is involved, the part food plays in my life. I want to dissect these times and really see how food influences the way I live.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

