Family Aroma

Who doesn’t like to spice things up? The cook or chef has so many decisions and options when preparing a meal. The people with whom you eat with are special people. There is a realm you enter when you sit at a table with others to share a meal. It’s very intimate. Family and friends are those I eat with and usually I cook for them. Ironically, the way I got into the position was by not knowing how to cook.

Since I started the blog I am trying to be more analytical about the way we eat as a family. Well, I think I should paint a better picture of the cooks of my family. My Grandma is a good cook. She makes a chili that will warm your soul with flavor. My Mom on the other, hand, is not the best cook but claims that as a kid she was given the job to clean. So she never got the recipe to the famous chili.

My Mom knows how to cook but her expertise isn’t really affiliated with the kitchen. Sorry Mom. When my brother and I were still in elementary school, my Mom decided to finish her college education. It was my brother and I who did a lot of the cooking and preparing of the meals. Even though we were all busy with school, we all sat together and ate dinner every night as a family and talked about the day.  Sometimes the dinner was all the time we got.

We took on new recipes, as we got older and the meals got better. I start to think about all the meals we had over the years. And I can’t remember all the tastes but I do remember being loved or at least all of us being fed and happy. It’s interesting because even though my mom wasn’t some top chef, she made it our responsibility to learn to cook. I never thought of it like that before.

Knowing whom your cooking for makes the preparation more personal. So the people I mainly cook for are family members. Over time I have learned about different spices and techniques for my meals when I’m in the kitchen. Nothing too fancy. Keep it simple.

The dynamic of the way a family runs is different for everybody. But it’s fair to say there is at least one person working on the meal. In the case of my family it’s whoever can cook and that is all of us. It has become the responsibility for everyone in the family. “What are we going to eat?” is the question. We also instituted “Make-your-own-damn-dinner-night” when it’s every man for himself.

Leave a Reply

