Food The Facilitator Of Love

In the last blog I talked about how we would all sit around the table as a family and share how our day went. That was during the time when we were all in school. Since I graduated from high school we aren’t has consistent when it comes to eating as a family. We got out of the habit and our schedules are all complicated. Eating together became something to do at holidays like Thanksgiving or Christmas.

This post should be taken “with a grain of salt.” Meaning these points I make should be carefully considered. As for everything else I write, be skeptical about what I say. I’m writing about the way I see things and sometimes the things we read should be not taken so literally. The saying “with a grain of salt” can be applied in a lot of situations. I’m writing from a real place but that doesn’t mean I’m incapable of saying something you may disagree with. Not everything I write is the absolute truth, but I do have very good reasons for including it in the blog. If I lie or distort the truth, then there is a good reason for doing so.

The dynamic of my family changed two years ago. My brother’s daughter Elexis was born and I became an uncle. I wasn’t just a brother and a son any more. I am the uncle now.  I have a role.  It’s more about preparing my niece for the big world. Teaching her all I know at my own discretion of course. Yet it’s fun to show her new things. I already want to take her to the beach and the movies. Show her the good films and let her hear the good music.

Elexis is already two years old; she loves me and in and a matter of a couple of years our family has been changed forever. And it’s beautiful how a child being present can clean up your behavior and living, in my case setting my own needs aside to create a bonding atmosphere. And that’s the weird thing about it because I’m connecting with not only my niece but also anyone else present at the table.  When I’m cooking that feeling is very warming because life is hard. But I can still feel a closeness with people that care for me in that moment I prepare dinner. I really don’t know if this is a universal feeling. But I believe it has everything to do with Elexis coming into our life and reminding us that dinner needs to be made, the table has to be set, and somebody needs to get the drinks. It’s a structured time for all of us to share our day. We mainly just look at E-girl and talk about how crazy she is.

The aspect of eating as a family was lost as we got caught up in our own lives. Myself included, but that’s life. It’s a balance for me when going after my individual goals but also still not forgetting about the structure that made my family what it is. The meal was like a reevaluation of everything, having your closest people near you to share a meal or a moment, just hoping that E-girl eats and enjoys the food.

Funny though now that E-girl is getting older, we are more aware of how she perceives us (her family).  We started to eat as a family again. It just makes sense. It takes coordination, cooperation, and communication.  We want to appear more like a family to her. Maybe we just want to eat when she’s eating. There’s never a dull moment with Elexis around especially for being two years old. She is like a hummingbird looking for Waldo. Having her sit down and eat a meal gives us time to hold her down and examine her, ask her about her day. She already knows about Netflix. This pasture of emotion calms me. When it involves my niece and family and eating as a family; I get excited.

So build food relationships with your family, or whomever you want. Cook for strangers. Food can be way more fun if more than one person is involved.

One thought on “Food The Facilitator Of Love

  1. Sky you made us laugh!! Your story was very funny and the way you used your words are remarkable. Love your Grandma, and
    Crystal, and Anthony.

Leave a Reply

