Metaphor Soup

I been using a lot of these blog posts to talk about my family and this topic is easy to associate with food and the blog idea, but I spend most of my time on the campus, where we don’t have kitchens to prepare extravagant meals. You would be lucky enough to find a clean microwave that can warm up your cup of noodles. Food is already here. It has already been brought. We’re crazy college kids on the go and we don’t need to worry about where are next meal will come from.

Does anyone cook on campus? This post was inspired by this bizarre idea I had dangling in my head about females knowing how to cook. I know it’s very insensitive for me to assume that all women know how to cook and I wasn’t trying to prove this, but I was trying to figure out how I felt, prior to starting this blog, that all women know something about cooking or being in the kitchen. Sexist or just an asshole, no offense ladies but I want to understand why I think that every woman knows how to cook.

It’s hard not to be biased because everything can be linked together for numerous reasons. So from the start I am aware that cooking is not everybody’s “cup of tea.”

I’m trying to understand this from my cartoon analytical brain. Take for instance the show “The Flintstones.” Fred Flintstone the husband goes to work everyday and then comes home to his wife Wilma. Wilma stays home and takes care of the kids and yes cooks the meals. It sounds dumb but as a kid I watched a lot of tv. I’m programmed to think like we’re still in the stone age. I’m just making the point that in not just cartoons but a good amount of the time the female characters on TV do use the kitchen.

It is not an easy task to talk about gender and roles without being offensive. Everybody male and female has a kitchen, but he or she might not use it. I can relate to not wanting to cook after a long day on campus. Cooking is the last thing I want to deal with some nights. That doesn’t mean that hunger goes away and the society we live in has food available literally twenty-four hours a day. We live in a world where you may not have to cook. There’s plenty of food already available for us to eat, at the food court, the convenience store, and of course the numerous vending machines plotted all over the city.

I’m making a lot off assumptions which is never a good idea and I’m trying to describe things I know nothing about. I have fun cooking at home because I know that my family will eat it and probably enjoy; this is fun for me. I get to share a time with those individuals I care for and vice versa when someone I know cooks a meal for me. When it’s not family it is more difficult to arrange a shared meal and moment.

Do you know the people that cook for you? Can you cook for yourself? Does cooking even matter, if there’s always food to eat? What did your favorite cartoon characters do for meals? Cooking maybe not be your “cup of tea”, but the food you eat comes from somewhere. I can’t remember if Wilma did the hunting herself or did the Flintstones have a grocery store. Maybe the writers were never hungry so the cartoon characters just automatically had food there. I’m pretty sure Wilma cooked from scratch to say the least.

Not every woman cooks and some of the best chefs in the world are men. Growing up a majority of my meals were made by women. So I want to go off the cliff and optimistically assume that if a women has someone she cares and loves like a family member or a significant other, then she might know a thing or two about the kitchen, maybe even about cooking. And if a man gets paid he’ll cook for whomever. This blog is not really sounding like I thought it was going to sound, all about gender. Cooking is an art, and some people just don’t like certain arts. That’s as simple as I can put it.

Leave a Reply

