Watch Your Mouth

“Life is a bowl of cherries” is a food idiom I stumbled upon and really like how the delivery of it can give it an ironic flavor. The phrase get’s used when things in life are pleasant.  I choose the phrase because it can be applied to my life but also the life of the world ironically and depending on your state of mind. Life is a bowl of cherries sometimes. It reminds me of a Carl Jung quote “the world into which we are born is brutal, and at the same time divine. Which we think outweighs the other, is a matter of temperament.” There are tragedies occurring as we speak. There are so many overwhelming aspects occurring in our life that sometimes it has to be handled by one’s self and perception. Life is tough but it can also offer you vast amount bliss when it is appreciated but also when it is embraced. “Life is a bowl of cherries” weather it be said ironically or sincerely, the phrase captures a concept of living that I like to be stuck in.  I want to enjoy life but I have also come to realize that in order to feel joy you must experience pain. Although it is our overall individual mind that controls the perception we call “life.” I think.

Who wouldn’t want a bowl of cherries? I put the blog on the back burner for the past couple of weeks, other classes of course, but really I just didn’t know where to take it. I said at the beginning of the semester that I would stop at 14 posts and I would be done, there. Well I’m at 15 posts and I still have some juice left. This semester has been the longest-shortest semester ever, if that makes sense. It felt like it took long to get going, and now that it has picked up some momentum it will end soon. Bittersweet always.

A common theme for the blog besides food was how this next stage in my life was going to affect me. Graduation, searching for employment, and just being a regular person with no big papers to turn in, no surprise quizzes. I am looking forward to it, but why is it taking so long? Over thinking or just being prepared? I don’t know.

This post has a mouth of it’s own. I am not talking about food but somehow our behavior and choices in life are affected by the way you eat. I can’t explain, but food for thought. The Roman philosopher Epictetus suggests to approach life as if it were a banquet. This banquet is one where you  behave cordially with everyone, maybe you’re the guest of honor, and get inspired to make a toast or speech. Banquets are fun! But you also need to know how to behave while attending them. I know I will be choking on my own words somewhere down the line for this post. Oh well, life is a bowl of cherries.

Finals are the next course and I am only hungry for vacation.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

