Marinade In Confidence

“If you can’t stand the heat, get out the kitchen,” is a very popular saying involving cooking or being in the kitchen. I really like the content of the saying but in order to fully get an idea of what it can represent it will take some reanalyzing. The saying pretty much is for anyone who can’t handle their role they’re taking on.

Honestly this saying can be like this universal phrase to better understand anything or everything. In life the things we want or desire usually require some hard work, obstacles. Nothing comes easy. And if it does than there is usually some alternate information that’s needs to be attained. In real life there is suffering and pain. The kitchen get’s hot, and if your not careful you can get burned.

Whither you are overwhelmed by the heat or scared of harming yourself. The pressure or pain available in the kitchen is there for you to learn from. Sometimes getting burned is just the only lesson to learn. I’m not saying go purposely harm yourself in the kitchen. I’m saying there are uphill battles everywhere, there are places for us to get burned but that doesn’t mean that heat is a bad thing. Heat is sometimes an element that you will never be able to escape. Heat is pain. I believe it is your maturity that helps understand “heat,” as you get older the way of dealing with things change. You learn new things about the heat. Where it’s coming from. How can I minimize it? And sometimes you just need to embrace and learn to love it. Love the burn.

I stared the blog site  as an assignment last fall semester and I sort of loved it. I believe it was Plato that said Love is a mental disease. I like writing but I also like sharing my writing to spark new conversations with other people. So even though the assignment is done.  I still want to keep it going in a sense. At least one post a month, still involving food and dining. The setting is pretty much the same but what makes it more different from the pervious posts is that I am writing more for personal reasons rather than to fulfill an assignment given by some instructor. Blog it up.

It is a New Year and just like last year there is still room for improvements. Such a slave to the calendar for majority of the year and New Years is just like pressing restart. I been contemplating all the lessons 2012 taught me and now I am ready to emerge like a firecracker in this brand new time. And this is why the saying “if you can’t stand the heat, get out of the kitchen” fits this post and time in January because we are like starting all over. So face the heat. In life we all get burned, but that doesn’t mean you’re in the wrong place. It doesn’t mean anything. It just means the experience of heat can teach you something. Notice that New Years is the only time it’s okay to drop a ball. But don’t drop the ball in your endeavors especially in the kitchen. A chef is a writer. A chef is an artist. A chef is just like you and me capable of cooking and creating something new never been done before.

Every year my Grandma and Mom make tamales for  New Years and Christmas. This year somehow my Mom got me working on the tamale assembly line. And it is fun hard work but what mattered most to me was the time of bonding. My tamale making skill aren’t great and I’m pretty sure my grandma fixed all mine up. I guess it’s the time when we’re all together that can be more filling than actually eating the tamales. I don’t know if I’ll get roped into helping in the future. Do traditions we take part in shape us?

“If you can’t stand the heat, get out the kitchen” could have negative connotations as well. This could be a good thing or bad, but there is a reason why someone would say this to another person. I’m not some peace freak but negativity can damper the mood. For whatever reason things get hot and difficult, a confidence mindset really can over look and overcome any negativity pondering.  This is my kitchen and this heat is what I want. Times get tough and life is hard, but having that confidence in the metaphorical kitchen is what will hold you down always.

I use to say for cooking the best the ingredient was love, but now it think its tie with confidence.

Leave a Reply

