I Have Not A Fig To Give

I don’t give a fig is an idiom I had not heard before but I am glad I did. I don’t give a fig is like saying I don’t care or I could care less with assurance and determination in the delivery.

I’m not saying to have this, “I don’t care attitude,” but it is a skill you can work on and will help you in the long run.

And it goes back to this concept of living for individuals to choose. To strive not for scucces but rather greatness. Not giving a fig is a part of the gig. I think in order to be great you must be willing to try new things and tackle with the impossible. Although there is more to being great than touching unconquered territory.  

There will always be critism. Always room for doubt. And expectations of others become something you must deal with, judgement of course is in the audience.

This is why I like the food idiom, “I don’t give a fig;” It is a mantra for negativity. Sometimes negativity from others is tolerable but when it’s coming from within, then there is a problem. Know you and what you are suppose to be doing, and the rest? Just don’t give a fig.

When there is a challenge or some hardship you will be facing it is very easy to go to a negative place. It is very easy to say negative things. It’s easy to be influenced by others and what they say but the power of your own words is triumphant.

That is why not giving a fig works.

Someone great see’s the same challenge and hardship, rather than commentating on the outcome or consequences. Someone great ignores the negative assumption of others and just gets through it. Not giving a fig.

In life i’ve learned that there are things that I can control and there thing I cannot. Although any negativity other than my own can eat my dust, I don’t give a fig. The obstacles in life are the content of a wonderful story.

Go after a dream, chase your goals, and overcome everything  in-between. Greatness is already in your vocabulary and it just needs life.

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a harder battle.”

-Plato

 

Leave a Reply

