Pigs In The Blanket

How would things be if I were a substitute teacher? There is an opportunity to be a sub for the school district here on the Rez. I do have my concerns or worries about the position, they do make their own schedule and go where they’re needed. It seems fun and the teachers leave instructions for the class. I am a little scared to be alone with the students, but I’ll just say, “You can call me Mr. A, and I don’t play.”

This premises or scenario got me wondering about what kind of sub I’ll be? Will I be a strict sub? Will I yell to get my point across if nobody is listening? How will I know if their even paying attention? Are they playing a joke or prank on me? Do they even take me seriously? Am I boring? A lot to think about.

It’s a demanding job to be a full-time teacher always planning for upcoming lessons, but even they need a break or time off. They will need someone to cover their class. That person might be me.

In high school, I remember there was this sub in school, who had been way past his retirement stage, would just take attendance and turn on a movie. The movie was relevant to the class but the sub would be dozing off the entire class. Fun times.

Being a substitute was not exactly what I wanted  to do, and now that I’m entertaining the possibility of being a sub, I don’t want to be the boring one that just shows movies and takes naps. And it’s really such a waste of time to leave the students unchallenged.

It’s a different time for schools in this generation and sometimes kids can become bored or uninterested. The test score can be pointless to the extent that the kids are no longer engaged in what their learning. I want to be the sub that offers engaging conversations to the students. Not just be the guy in the room that’s in charge.

The food expression was one I had not heard in ages. “To egg on,” which means to encourage someone, but my aunt Heidi always said it when she was talking about when my brother and I would be constantly fighting each other. Egging each other on.

We fought like brothers do.

My Aunt Heidi would say, “don’t egg your brother on.” And that just usually meant don’t make him cry or don’t discourage him.

We didn’t meet Heidi until we were in elementary school. She watched over us while my mom was in school. She shared so much of the world with us and made things fun, definitely leaving an impressionable mark on our childhood.

She took us to meet her friends and introduced us to films for her childhood. She was the first person to ever pay us for cursing; giving us a quarter every time she let a bad word slip. She told us to use our words wisely and expected us to be respectful well-behaved boys.

But even when we did get out of hand she never really got mad at us. My Aunt Heidi is a very unpredictable individual and to have lived those moments with her, still influences who I am today.

Egg me on and I’ll egg you on more.

Leave a Reply

