Grapevine Speaking To Me

 There are so many food expressions and to hear something through the grapevine is like saying, “someone else told me.” The grapevine is a metaphorical vine of information. Of course the song, “heard it through the grapevine” is popular reference to this way of gaining information about a certain someone.

The power of music, am I right? The ability of a piece of music to channel a certain type of feeling or emotion, and still makes you want to groove. A song can generates these feelings within yourself and you can’t help yourself but to start to wiggle your butt. That gentle tap in your foot. Start nodding your head to the beat.

People will always talk and say thing to you that you will not always want to hear. But that’s life. John Keats famous lines to the conclusion to his poem entitled Ode on a Grecian Urn he writes:

“Beauty is truth, truth beauty,” – that is all

Ye know on earth, and all ye need to know.

Keats brings up a valid point and I feel that beauty is in everyone and everything because there is some truth in them. There is beauty everywhere if given the right amount of care and patience. Almost as if it needs to be seen in the perfect scope. It is very easy to call something ugly because you don’t understand what’s in front of you.

image

I just get reminded of this moment I had when I was 6 or 7, I was really young. So I was at the store with my Aunt Rachael, think it was target. We were at the checkout, and I’m waiting for my Aunty to pay for her stuff. There is another checkout with a line of customers, right next to the line were in. So there is a lady paying for things at the same my Aunt is paying for hers. The lady next to us has a daughter that was probably the same age as young me.

So the store is fully functioning and I happen to make eye contact with this girl. Then out of nowhere, she winks at me. Very cute move on her part, but me being the kid I was, I need to retaliate. I still remember this time like it can’t leave my brain. So she winks at me and I need to reply with something.

What could I do? This is what I do. I stick my tongue at her. So childish. But anyways my Aunt see’s me sticking my tongue at the girl and gets mad at me for acting inappropriate. We leave the store and I never see the girl again. You know I did feel bad leaving the store because my Aunt scolded me for my tongue action.

This moment is somehow related to what I was saying about everything being beautiful. Even when things go wrong or people act inappropriate, there is still something to be learned, something to be gained. I guess what I’m saying is that something can be seen as ugly but deep down inside there is so much beauty we have yet to take to time to notice.

Fast forward to now and I’m just as clueless. Hypothetically of course, if there was a pretty girl winking at me a target? I still don’t know what my counter (facial expression) move would be. But if it’s a girl I really like, I might need to stick with my classic move. Sticking out my tongue is all I got.

Butter yourself up

You look so fine

All this knowledge I’m spilling

Heard it through the grapevine.

image

Leave a Reply

