Cigar And A Piece Of Cake

In this life I am learning to be more flexible with how I understand the way the world works. I was reading the first post ever and started reflecting on who I was when I first started writing the blog before I was through with school. It seemed as though I was over thinking the entire struggle. And I overcame all of that but I’m still left feeling like I need more to learn. I have experienced success but not enough to feel content. I am still very much the wild child needing some kind of structure. The world is like an unending puzzle that you can only attempt to solve. Bittersweet.

This post is monumental for me. At some point in time this storiesfrommystomach was just an assignment for class when I was a student at the U of A. I said that I would only do 20 posts and then I would stop. Although in reality I just kept at it. But even now I still try to figure out creative ways to incorporate new things involving food into the blog. Any who. This very post I’m typing on now, is the 50th one. Half of a hundred, but I still keep it one hundred. It’s been nearly a year and I still feel full of stories to share.

image

I had to have a blog for an assignment in order for me to realize that blogging is something that I wanted to do. So stubborn now that I write it out. I guess it’s a confidence thing. But now that I been introduced into the blog game, I’m definitely going to see if I have what it takes to get to one hundred. Let’s talk then, have a beer or glass of wine. Laugh about the moment were in now. Keep it one hundred.

Also taking that time to reflect on the beginning of the blog as made me aware of my own presence. That my future is sincerely in my hands and that if I wanted this blog to work, well then I was going to need to be motivated from within. And honestly I have noticed that my day-to-day dialogue with people has become more of a writing focus. It almost gives me a reason to talk more and be open about myself. Everyone has a story and mine is just as great.

Two sides to this story. Even though you prosper in life. The expectations of others and even the expectations of yourself should not always be a concern when it comes to doing the things you really need to do. I don’t mean to sound so contradictive but there is always room for improvement. Yes we give the day our best effort. But that effort must morph and change in order to contain the greatness. It reminds me of the saying, “close, but no cigar” because even though you accomplish something, the results aren’t what you hoped for.  I’m not saying always scrutinize yourself for everything you do but always be looking for the next opportunity to grow and learn. The need to improve is really within. So maybe I don’t need a cigar, but getting one for my actions does sound like icing on the cake.

image

You may not always have all the required ingredients for the expected recipe, but that doesn’t mean that you are incapable of creating a great meal.

Be flexible and keep it one hundred.

image

Leave a Reply

