Moving Forward – Food For Thought

image

I need to be inspired by everything. All that is around me, is what makes me who I am. In the grand scheme of things, I am only an average guy providing my two cents on the matter at hand. Take what I say with a grain of salt because in the end, I can only attempt to be a jack of all trades, but I can only be a master of one, and that is error. The words you use are power. So if you can take away anything positive that I write, then I am deeply touched and can only say that anything I’ve said that sounded good, you were probably already thinking. Greatness is everywhere, so do dabble.

So much of these reflection have to do with this article that got published  in the Tohono O’odham Community College newsletter. I had written the article in 2010, when I was still a student, going to school in sells. The article really opened up things for me, and I was really able to have a piece of my writing justify all this clarity in my head.

I was able to do so much. And now that I think about it; if I had not written the article, would my life be where it’s at now? How much of my life would have changed?

I bring this up because this article is being republished. The city of Tucson has a annual folklore festival called Tucson Meet Yourself, and for the festival they produce a magazine. But they want my writing to be in the magazine. They saw my article I had written years ago and thought it would be cool to republish it. So now I’m making minor adjustments to the piece. It’s humbling to know that people like your work, but to know that your work is going to be in a magazine. Cool beans.

On top of the publication for the TMY magazine, I also got a call from one of the places I applied for a couple of months back. Asking if I was still interested in the position. I’m happy, but also surprised by the opportunity at getting a job. Mines for the taking, got an interview at the end of the month.

Things are looking up for me and I see my efforts really glowing. So much of the time you can spend worrying about the hardships of life and not be able to see the real life scenery actually around you. Everything around you has something to offer and my blog is only a grain of salt.

image

“You don’t know what the river is like or what the ocean is like by standing on the shore. You can’t know anything about life and suppose you can get through it clean.”

-James Baldwin

One thought on “Moving Forward – Food For Thought

Leave a Reply

