Tough Stuff

I am like a week away from my first interview since graduating. And I won’t lie; I am little worried about what they’ll ask me during the interview. Maybe throw a question at me, I didn’t even think they could ask. What would that even be? Whatever they ask, I just hope I don’t choke.

You know this blog is really just another way for me to doodle these moments in my life here on a post. I can reflect on these experiences and share with anyone who takes the time. I remember this one time when we were still young and my brother and I were at my Aunt Rachael’s house. As kids we enjoyed going to our auntie’s house. Not only did she cook good but we also had the best times playing with our cousins. I would even get permission to ride the bus to her house after school. We always wanted to go there.

But there was this one time when we were all at my aunty Rachael’s house doing something. I can’t remember clearly why we were all there, but my mom was not there, I would have remembered her panicking. Well one of our relatives suddenly started choking on a piece of cheese. I was young, so I panicked of course, yet it was my older cousin that got put to the real test.

Clinton was the second oldest of my auntie’s sons. He was this child genius. I remember my aunty would hang up all his awards and certificates, and she would always fill the wall with his achievements. He definitely was a smart kid and I surely thought his brain would keep him cool during this time of stress. But it was pretty much the opposite when the cheese got stuck.

So Clinton was the closest to the phone and everyone yelled for someone to call someone. Call emergency. You know those moments of panic put you in a dumbfounded state. Even to this day I just remember being frozen.  I had to have been 6 or 7 maybe younger, and so Clinton was at older than 10. He gets the phone and I’ll never forget what happen next. The phone is in the kitchen and the person choking is in the living room. Clinton in so much confusion, he yells out, “What’s the number?”

Everyone screams out the three numbers.

You know by the time Clinton got a hold of the emergency operator, the cheese had been spit up. It was a brief moment of horror and at the end of it all, we were glad to just be safe and breathing.

The food expression of the post, “tough pill to swallow,” sometimes the truth does not sound so pretty. But even though things can be challenging or can put you in a awkward position, that doesn’t need to interrupt the overall drive. You almost need to remember the main goal or dream your trying to create. That tough pill may be hard going down and even might cause a bitterness aftermath. But eventually it will be something that you will need swallow. Don’t be chicken and chew on that.

Leave a Reply

