All Talk No Meat

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

Maya Angelou

Taste these words. They been mirnading in honey just for this moment.

This is the post where I concentrate on the mouth. The tongue & teeth, the voice, and lips.

I was always aware of my words. Even at a young age I saw my words spark joy with the people I was interacting with. I could tell a story, captivate everyone in the room, and the story doesn’t even need to be true. People will still be entertained.

Although, I also saw how much hurt my words could be to another. I could think I’m telling a joke but be easily offending a person without me knowing it. I could do so much with just my words alone. Be aware of it.

The power of my mouth.

 It is this resource you must feed. It is this apparatus I use to communicate. It’s how I operate the sound coming from within. It’s how I get things done. Articulating things from the soul. Debating. Analyzing. Rhyming. Kissing. It’s my enemy and best friend all in the same sentence.

It will slice you in half, it will sing you to sleep.

My words can save the day, do the impossible. But my words can cause stress and get me into a lot of trouble. I decide how it gets explained. Only me.

If you can’t stand the heat, then get out of the kitchen.

But don’t say your going to be in the kitchen, and then not really be in the kitchen. I guess that’s the challenge when using your mouth,  you must be able to do what you say. Otherwise your just making noise.

It’s more than saying but actually doing that matters.

My words, my story, my truth, only I can control that. Live your truth and be the voice that gets heard.

Ya heard.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

