Love At First Bite

Taco Night was like a family tradition. Tacos are just the food that “hits the spot” for me. I mean I could be having the worst day, and having tacos later that night almost saves the day. It will turn the entire day’s mood around with one bite.

During Taco Night growing up, we would all have different tasks. Someone will need to cut the tomatoes. Another person will need to slice the lettuce. Everyone wants to shred the cheese. All the cheese lovers trying to steal a pinch of the pyramid of cheese.

These Taco Nights had reason. My fascination with this family tradition grew in my belly. Although, I will never turn down a taco, but there is one particular taco that surpasses all tacos in my book.

My Aunt Rachael makes the greatest tacos ever.

Her tacos are like none other. They didn’t taste like my mom’s, or my grandma’s. They had a crunch to it, like your heart was breaking bite after bite. They were so good, after you took the first bite, you feel your soul smiling.

Each bite was love at first sight.

My Aunties tacos were like an edible message:

Reminding us that we’re able to create heaven at the table.

Reminding us to stay calm, and to take our time in the chaos occurring.

Reminding us that hard work pays off, but there’s still more to come.

Reminding us to be thankful for the people we have around in our lives.

Kudos to taco night.

Leave a Reply

