21 TIPS

I been getting out and playing basketball more often. Trying to stay active. So for my lunch and even sometimes after work, I’ll go shoot around at the courts with my cousin.

As much as I enjoy analyzing the game and talking about the art of teamwork, I like to dabble in the playing myself. In fact it’s therapeutic. I have the fondest memories playing ball at the YMCA on the weekends.

Basketball has always been in my life in some form and by getting out and actually playing the game, I’m tapping into this basketball vault of knowledge

I wait for the “yo were heading over” text from my cousin Leo.

Game On

Usually Leo and one of his other brothers will come. Depending on the day we might have a few of the brothers out. This particular Monday evening it’s just Leo and Eric. Eric is the older Brother and definitely an exciting opponent to be up against. He makes jokes throughout the game and then commentates on his plays. But none of this extra showmanship gets in the way of him executing his ball playing skills.

If you can’t stand the heat then get out of the kitchen. I think the idiom translates in basketball universe. Don’t be talking if you ain’t showing. I think it’s a external tactic to give your opponent, to be able to talk out loud to the opponent. Not being disrespectful but giving humorous banter to accompany the game.

All in good fun.

We play 21 tips which means there is the opportunity to cause the other players to lose their points. The first to score 21(exactly) wins.

We play ball at the playground in our Village. Usually one of the little nephews that follow their uncles wants to play in the game. So small we have to move them off the court. They’ll get to play some day.

We start the first game with the sun out and end the last with the sun down. If the game is really exciting we’ll be playing in complete darkness. Trying to tap into my court night vision.

Although most of all it’s the camaraderie that makes playing basketball fun. We all have the day to deal with. Work or school; these moments when were laughing and challenging each other is sometimes hard to orchestrate.

Eric wins the first game and I win the last.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

