21 TIPS PT. 3

Our work allows us to have an hour for wellness. We exercise and do other healthy activities but basketball is my therapy. The past two weeks I been playing more often and it is comforting to be able to play. Thinking about life and the directions you can follow. The rules of basketball haven’t really changed since I started playing ball. Although it seems the rules in life shifted to some degree as time unfolded.

Playing basketball allows me to have a better grasp the reasoning and I can make some kind of understanding of what’s going down on the court. Comforting but it’s also about the playful competition and connection with people that makes basketball great.

My cousin Leo and I go to the Rec to shoot around at the courts. A few games of 21, usually there are others around that want to jump in and play.

The spring in near it’s end and summer can be felt around the bend. This particular day the courts are filled. The gym usually empty but I am reminded that it is Spring break and the students are out and about. There are two youngsters on the main court where we usually play.

We ask if they wanted to play 21. So funny they exchanged words before agreeing. Come to find out that they were middle school students. Although no need to go easy on these middle school kids, because they had brought their A game.

I had a decade and some change on these dudes but playing basketball it’s not a big deal that these 14 year olds are crossing me over and making me work on defense. You need to make others work for what they want.

Typically after a game ended Leo and I would take a 5-minuet break. Rest up before we run it back. These guys were ready to start another game once the first one ended. I had to just embrace that youthful spirit and go with the flow. That energy is contagious, so we start right back at game 2.

You challenge your opponents but it should be really you challenging yourself. Working towards accomplishing goals and having full agency on the court.

Our one hour is near the end and we must get back to work.

Leave a Reply

