21 TIPS Part 8

The aftermath of when we play. I’m tired on the verge of taking a nap for lunch. Staying active but my body is having a hard time keeping up. I wanted the wellness but I didn’t expect it to drain me completely. I think it’s just me adjusting to play at the certain pace. Even though we go to play basketball at the rec, we don’t always get to play.

The summer drum roll is filling the space. The kids are out from school and the rec center is filled with little ones. That energy is just contagious. So they have activities planned for the young ones and the courts were taken. The coordinator saw us and said we were welcome to join in. They kids were playing hockey. But they didn’t have quite enough players so Leo and I would be helping the guys out. And it seemed like a lot of fun. We join in.

It is very funny because I’m always defending my age. I’m not a child but something about being serious and gets me feeling like the oldest adult ever. Like I’m focusing all my energy on this determined look. Something about seeing these kids focused but not sincerely serious. They seem more open for what the moment will bring instead of having specific intentions. Young at heart but I got an old soul.

We play hockey and it rocks.

Giving high fives to my young teammates every time I get a chance. We laugh about how hard it is to be goalie. That young heart gets me well. Knowing that we could still relate on a game even though we are at different stages in our lives. It’s just a score.

Leave a Reply

