Cartoon Soap Opera

As the world occurs.

I get homesick in a sense when at work maybe because my niece is home enjoying the summer without me. Around this time last year I was not working and was the babysitter for my niece Elexis. We would go for bike rides, and watch cartoons. It was a just a fun time not really having a job. I was home.

Of course the time I got to spend with my niece was what I enjoyed the most. I was suddenly out of school and really unsure about how things were going to be. So important that family is always going to have a spot for me and that was what babysitting did. It gave me a clear picture of myself in the family. Being able to bond with my niece who was three at the time just helped me remember being a child and but also still accepting responsibilities that come with being alive in the world. To just be able to anticipate the day and making it neat for my niece to play in. Almost reintroducing myself to the family storyline full-time. I’m no longer stranded on some island sipping martinis in a coconut cup (the college years).

A regular character in the seasons to come is how it felt spending time with E-girl. She is so young and impressionable but all at the same time influential to how I could see myself in her future. Playing the role of the uncle and actually do my own stunts in the scene by being around. Trying to do everything possible and give a good performance. Break a leg. And we had plenty of fun times that summer. The summer she discovered Scooby Doo and took ownership of the house and made it a fun-mystery one.

And it’s all about the snacks and juice. Is there food that will satisfy our soul and is it the kind of flavor I need for the moment. I was the man in charge of making things go smoothly and keeping the calm energy for the episode. Not always working that way if she disagreed with what I had said. Not wanting to take a nap was always a conflict that season. So young Elexis is now really expressing her personality like a comedic light underneath all her serious business.

photo1 (4)

This summer she is spending time with her grandma. My Mom is off on her summer break and she is looking after Elexis. So I been sneaking away for lunch to see the two a couple days out of the week to get a quick lunch and visit during the day. I guess when underneath the supervision of my Mom, Elexis does things a certain way. They have their own style.

I went to see what’s going on in the world of E-girl. I thought it was nap time because no one was in the living room or the kitchen. I walked in the back room and they were both watching a movie playing with play-doh like it was ice cream. I get my lunch and talk for a bit before time pulls me away. It’s like a tradition with Elexis when someone leaves the house, she has to give them a hug goodbye. So I announce my departure and Elexis comes running up the hall and I thought she was giving me a hug.

But she just runs right passed me and goes straight to the fridge. Come here uncle! I follow her to the kitchen and she asks me if I could get her a peach. Always make sure I wash the fruit and explain minor details about the food. Remember the seed.

She takes the fruit and runs off and I need to get back to work.

I have my goals in the range and one day at a time I’m trying to reach these milestone. And to have Elexis in my life I can always feel accomplished by helping her understand her day-to-day. Even though I’m working on these big parts of my life and career, the role of uncle motivates me to stay cool in the summer.

As the world occurs.

Leave a Reply

