PB & J + Family = Blog Snack

It has been a trip to see my niece grow over the years and see this personality burst out of this small child. And then I see my younger brother Ronny handling his parenting role with gusto. Funny because even though Ronny is a parent and raising his four year old daughter Elexis, he is still my silly younger brother trying to keep things funny in a moment of seriousness. We trade stories outside late at night if I’m still awake and if he’s up too. Talk about E-girl and what she said or did, always something to remember about.

The night is calm because it surrenders the worries of the day to breath freely and we’re able to dissect the happy times of life and re-live them through stories. It’s always comforting when you can do that with family. Share aspects about life when you’re out on your own. The individual experiences and insights that I can include my people on. Even if it’s just about the taste of the meal.

So I ask about my brother’s day and he had went to a departmental conference, they were doing team building exercises and they had guest speakers. You know being on the road and writing reports about the locations and discussions with clients. The language you use needs to be clear and concise. He had talked about a team-building exercise that had to do with making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. How I understood the activity, it was to point out the need to clearly explain and use language to get exactly what you needed. I mean someone comes to you and says how do you make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?

There are several schools of thought on how to correctly manifest a sandwich of that magnitude. Creamy or crunchy? Strawberry or Grape?

So the presenter calls on my brother to answer the question or at least begin to make some kind understanding of what was truly being asked. My brother says

First you are going to need to find out and see if there is any bread.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

