Lemons R Lemons

The consistent element of the blog in the beginning was the food idiom. When I had the idea to do a blog I wanted to undress and use these idioms that incorporated food in them. Food for thought famously was what I wanted to do with the posts. Using the food idiom was like a writing exercise to inspire content to back up these phrases and their meaning. I kept it up at the beginning and it was really helpful because there are so many common food idioms that people could relate to. Over time I let the food idioms take the back burner and now I want re-taste them.

Food for blog.

When life hands you lemons you make lemonade. There are many interpretations to this lemon situation. It reminds me of this one time when we were living in Tucson with my Grandma. My Mom was still at the UofA and our Grandma feed us and told us what to do when my Mom was at work. My Grandma was making this big pot of stew. She had different kinds of vegetables and stew meat all brewing up in this big blue pot.

The first night we ask our Grandma:

Grandma, Grandma what’s for dinner?

She says: STEW!

My Grandma had made so much that it was what we ate for the whole week. It seemed like it. Being a kid we had to eat whatever our Grandma prepared. So every time during that week when we would ask about the meal or about what we could eat when we got home from school, she just gave the simple answer: STEW!

I guess variety in the meals for the week was something we always paid attention to. Maybe because our Grandma spoiled us with so many different dishes and then only being subjected to one was like an odd surprise. She was an amazing cook, still to this day. You know over a certain time a person masters a recipe. They perfect it as they critique themselves in the process. Trial and error but honestly we were the lucky ones because our Grandma had already mastered so many recipes for us to feast over.

Stew again.

How when life gives you lemons you make lemonade is very similar to the situation of having an abundance of STEW! that needs to be eaten. Complaining or worst letting it go to waste won’t do any good. The things in life I need to deal with are not always pleasing or fun, although the lemonade will probably satisfy a symbolic thirst in the end. I think the idiom is like making do with what you got and having an optimistic spirit. Something unfamiliar or not preferred can still offer a taste of something great.

How do you like them lemons? Bittersweet my treat. When life hands you lemons you learn how to juggle them gaining enough confidence to join to circus. When life hands you lemons you make lemonade and add a shot of vodka because you’ve had a long day. Stories from my stomach.

Leave a Reply

