Whistling While I Save Mayberry

I am supposed to be doing these writing prompts/challenges through www.wordpress.com and I tried a couple out. But not really. This is my first attempt to try to reply to the dialogue about this side-kick/partner in crime idea. And I started to think about duos that I enjoyed watching solve cases and crimes. The main example was that Batman did not do it all by himself, Robin was right by his side complementing or balancing out the team for the greater good.

Of course everyone wants to be Batman…

I think one of the coolest duos of all time was Andy Griffith and Barney Fife. I thought they we’re awesome together. I mean Andy Griffith was very cool and manly. He had that intellect about handling things in the town, and maybe it was his fatherly protection mojo but he just held it down as Sheriff. Now Barney was goofy, he had no mojo. Although he was smart or dumb enough to keep Andy moving. The duo made it through every episode and it was Barney that brought silliness to the show.

One of the prompt questions was asking about what you offered as a side-kick? I thought about my friendships as duos where I’m the side-kick. And I am crime fighting first type of guy. I think if I were applying to be someone’s side-kick, the only word on my resume would be Accommodating. I mean if there is someone wanting to be the main act and they need some support. I’m the comedic relief guy. Tell you a good story while we’re stuck in traffic. After a long day of fighting crime, I’ll buy the first round of beers. Lighten up the mood while we deal with trouble. Really talk story. Share great music always.

Talking about the Andy Griffith Show it reminds me of a time when I was just a boy and there was this parade for our pre-school. It was this “Dress-Up-Like-What-You’ll-Be-When-You-Grow-Up” day. I don’t remember if it was my choice or if it was my parents. But I was a Cop that day, I had the uniform and badge. Everything. It was fun thinking that one day you could be a Police Officer protecting the people.

It’s funny because I was just this skinny kid and my dad said that I looked like Barney Fife. Goofy Loud Deputy ready to take on the world. I may have looked like Barney but I felt like Andy.

I think about it now and it seems you need to be able to play both parts. Adjusting to what your partner in crime is giving you. Although, also finding a balance so that your still able to assist in saving the town from the bad guys.

Right Aunt Bee.

Leave a Reply

