Sun Burner

As a kid, were you happy or anxious about going back to school? Now that you’re older, how has your attitude toward the end of the summer evolved?

This is something I had thought about the other day. I think being in school almost defined the season calendar thing. If I was going back to school then that meant the summer was over. So by not being in school I can’t tell when it officially ends or begins probably because it’s southern Arizona all year.

As I got older the summer time was a time for me to work. And I think I held a job every summer too. Yet not really true, there was the summer where I really was close to finishing school and had enough cash to last me through the break. I told myself to stay home and be a bum. Not a bum who begs for money, more like a bum that writes poems and has no desire to conform to society. I just wanted to mediate with Netflix in the background.

And so I did.

It wasn’t what I thought. Just because you have free time doesn’t mean that the free time gets used. It was like I had too much freedom. Not having a schedule or a place to report was a concept that seemed simple. Right.

It wasn’t terrible but it was a science experiment that I needed to try on myself. I guess all those summers working was good exercise for my brain but to just let it rest in that capacity was only confusing for me.

Funny story.

I mean it wasn’t like it was boring. It was like I didn’t know how to vacation. So it was an early morning and I was home alone. Everyone went to their gigs and it was this morning I felt inspired to write outside. So inspired that I didn’t even put on pants. I’m outside writing in my notepad only in my boxers.

Loving the moment and then I realize that I’m locked out of the house. This is what I meant about being confused. I never had to plan to not get locked out of the house. I was running all over trying to see if could get in another way.

My family laughed about that all week.

The summer has the same feel but yet at my age or place in time I’m aware of what I bring to the experience of the season as well. So maybe it has evolved by our choices we have to make. I think the summer will never let us down and the individual must realize they will get something out of it regardless.

IMG_0492.JPG

Leave a Reply

