E Girl Saves The Day

Awoken to write. My niece comes into the room and demands cereal and cartoons. She does say please so I guess that makes the statement legit. I try to encourage her to fall back asleep, but that conversation is not worth bringing up. This situation has happened many times before, so I know it’s best to just get up and get this early bird her cereal.

Turn on the cartoons to watch while she eats her bowl of lucky charms. She says, “Uncle you didn’t get me my juice.” I did forget that was in the original request as I was half asleep. She did say please, I get the apple juice.

IMG_0484

I did a post a couple weeks back and it was about famous duos and how the sidekick was this counterbalance for a powerful team or duo. Elexis and I are a duo unlike no other. She makes sure I’m up and ready for the day. Keeping me occupied in make-believe activities, dinner dates with empty tea cups.

My niece also brings the adventure and imagination. The energy of a Gemini; we are on two different wavelengths, yet get us in a room and we’ll have a ball.

The treat of being the uncle is that I can be a part of my niece’s childhood in an honorable fun way. Being the example of what it means to be an uncle or even a good person. There is a kind of respect only Elexis can give. My niece thinks I’m a funny dude and since I’m older she is the sidekick. I just hope that I’m teaching her enough to be her own Sheriff one day.

Leave a Reply

