Zoltar’s Revenge

You know the movie Big, Tom Hanks gets to be an old man as a kid. This is what would go down if it were to go in reverse, big man in little man. How would that work me going back to school at the age of 12?

Big, it’s been awhile but I remember it clearly. If things did suddenly change and I was myself trapped in a 12 year old body, it’s the first day of school. I would probably befriend the bully. If anything get any student rivalry under control and channel that energy into challenging the teacher. All in all making the teacher find salvation in learning.

I would start a gang. A good academic gang. Set up homework sessions that students could attend to have their work checked and finished. Incentives for anyone tutoring or helping the class always have their homework turned in on time. I would set up gambling system for the science fair and academic awards. Students would get to play and participate and the winners of the fairs and awards would get cuts of the earnings. A great student would bet all on themselves.

It’s a trip because if I could reverse time and re-live a time when I was twelve, I don’t know if I would change anything around. Maybe there’s more of a chip on my shoulders because in the present I have lived twice as long and I can come into a scenario thinking my experiences can solve the equation. I think at that age it was about knowing who your friends were and staying close to them. Music was very much the topic of discussion always. I remember in the seventh grade was the first time a teacher gave me a low grade in math. I really wasn’t focusing. Pretty much what the teacher said to my Mom and that was how middle school began.

Leave a Reply

