Track 2 The Future

You’re sitting at a café when a stranger approaches you. This person asks what your name is, and, for some reason, you reply. The stranger nods, “I’ve been looking for you.” What happens next?

He pulls out an envelope and it’s addressed to myself.

The night is young and we are approaching it with the best intentions. I may be just a stranger to you and I deserve the remorse that came with the distance. If time was fair and science could take me to the beginning I would do things different. I’m way passed my prime and see so much of myself in the way you carry the name. This son I never had to see,  light that never touched my eyes could still create something identical to me. How wonderful our paths can still touch even by not crossing physically. The earth was the same earth my feet touched, so we share that moment when we reach those same places on the land.

What is happiness when you can be happy without the real deal. I’m talking about the full extent to the ideal of a family in the society we live in. I know this is more about my own happiness than yours, but I had to reach out to you. Hope is a hopeless challenge you want to win.

I lived a full life and I overcame the struggles that were given to me and I wonder about the quality of my life. How would have things been with your mother and grandmother. Those struggles can’t compare to the regret of knowing what I passed up. The consequences that come along with me even though I left without a word. I stayed playing the scenario in my head everyday since then. I could not defend myself and I come to you a stranger asking for forgiveness.

The last of my days on this earth, I could just hope to hear you say you could forgive me for my actions ,decades later. Even if I am just a stranger. Even if I don’t deserve the time of day. I could just pray you hear me apologize  for what my choices caused in the present. Recognize your inner greatness and learn from my mistakes. Take and know what comes after your decisions and be a better me because we are still connected.

Don’t let fear scare you and always be your best you.

Love

 

Leave a Reply

