Sore Winners

The lucky shot is in us all. That once of a lifetime opportunity that will present itself in the most casual outfit. What makes a champion? Sometimes I feel there is nothing to truly solidify a true champion. I mean we all do what we do to deserve a fair chance at greatness.

Over the years growing up I started to see what I needed to work on in order to be better. And also notice my potential in certain aspects that maybe I didn’t feel were even a possibility. Me being me but with a hint of everyone else because regardless of the differences I still know there is a deeper connection that binds us. It just needs to be found. It needs to harnessed and replanted for years to come. Greatness.

I played in YMCA basketball leagues in my younger years. The games were on the weekend and it was where I learned a lot of the fundamentals of the game. I guess it’s where I learned that winning wasn’t everything. Even though we worked towards winning, but when victory came around there was this shared sense of accomplishment. The teammates and the coach could hold that “W” up for the day.

There was this one summer season when the team I was playing on wasn’t doing too well. We hadn’t won any games and a lot of the players had other commitments. This one particular Saturday morning my Grandma took me to our game. That day a few players did not show, so the bench was nearly empty. Yet we still had a competitive game with the opponents. A nail bitter.

They had a two point lead. Nearly the end of the game.

You know with the few no shows that day, it really opened up the playing time for me. I wasn’t sharing that much playing time so I played most of the game. I was the me I never knew I could be.

Back and forth up and down the court. Rebounding their misses. It came down to twenty seconds already counting and us bringing it in. They pass the ball to me and I start to dribble up the sidelines, then I cut up the center of the court. And as the seconds are coming. I knew this was going to be the last shot of the game.

Although I did not know it would go in. This was our first victory that season. When the shot went in, it was like a basketball miracle. It was the Sportscenter top ten moment of my life. After that game when we gathered with our team, someone’s parents would bring us juice or some kind of snack, everyone at the gym was praising me and telling me that it was a “good shot.”

It was just one game when that happened and yet it still can play on the court. I look back at where my life is at and in that moment I’m running out of time and I need to not win but just try to give it my all. When I’m the kid that takes a half-court shot with seconds lefts on the clock and makes it; being able to grasp who I was in that game and now looking back it just gives me a championship feeling.

We did not win the Championship that year. It was the efforts of our playing that made us more than winners though. We all got the skill, it just needs to be channeled within. Greatness is a one on one game but basketball is a team sport. The composure of the player almost decides the draw of that particular match.

Who’s keeping score any way?

One thought on “Sore Winners

  1. “Now you will now swell the rout/Of lads that wore their honors out/Runners whom renown outran/And the name died before the man.”

Leave a Reply

