Sweet Tidings

There was a coffee shop up the street that sold these amazing cranberry muffins. I had the opportunity to try these muffins last week and it made my day so I thought I’d get me one before I started my journey.

There is a back booth in the coffee shop that I wanted to sit at but I seen man in a cap reading a newspaper already occupying the seat. I order my coffee and muffin and looked around for another place to sit. Then suddenly a feeling of deja vu approached the building. The man in the back booth stands up and walks toward me. In a very stern voice he says:

Do join me back here, there are a few things we must discuss.

I recognized his face but it was almost as if I didn’t want to fully embrace his identity. Although I was intrigued to know about what he wanted to discuss. Second guessing was not an option. I went to the back and sat down with this mysterious man.

He wore dark shades and had a scarf wrapped around his neck nearly covering up his face. The fitted baseball cap tightly worn gave no structure to his face. He was trying to be anonymous drinking his cup of coffee but I knew he was trying to convey something purposeful in his voice. I sit down:

Before you speak or say anything please know I mean no harm and only want guidance and wisdom.

Wisdom, what are you talking about?

I’m you.
(Man takes off shades and hat)
Well I’m you ten years ago. I know this is strange and I know you have questions about why I’m here, but I only have a short time here with you in this moment. This is not a scam or trick but a wellness retreat where I am able to contact my future self and request knowledge that will enrich my future in my present, your past. If that makes any sense, if any of this makes sense please answer me these three questions. We can’t get off topic of what I came to discuss with you. This time travel is serious business and if I know too much about anything else besides your present mind it will taint the realties of everyone in the universe.

So you can’t bet or make any money from gambling on professional sports games?

No, I am only here to hear from myself, myself only meaning you. It’s very dangerous to be messing with the laws of time but it’s pretty save if we only discuss the topics.

What are the topics?

The first is what was the most challenging thing that I will have to look forward to in my time before I am you? Go.

It’s a funny question because the challenging thing for me is learning to be satisfied with you. We constantly want to grow and be better and are quick to be critical of what people may think of us or even think that the things we keep close validate this sense of safety. Although I can only be truly happy or sure of what’s happening, when I am trying to figure out myself. The challenge is knowing that the learning never stops. The teacher can be the student at any time so by being able to focus on assisting or helping the self understand yourself better, your constantly having those challenges there. I had to get better at that everyday. I want great things around me, yes, but I myself must be great too. Greatness does offer a challenge.

What about the most rewarding thing?

Easily education for me. I think of the Shakespeare play The Tempest, Prospero who is this dad that has been kicked out of the civilized world in which he has access to this wonderful library. His books are his love. Living on the Island he only can dream of those pages of knowledge. He schemes his way back into the courtship (depending on what version) but I think the books represent Prospero’s love for learning. And for me, education and having my own set of books really opened up the opportunities in my life (still do.) The world is a living library and putting effort and even enjoying to learn new things can make the biggest difference in life. I am not regretful about the time I invested in my education and I can always reflect and continue to grow because of it. Next question.

The most fun?

The most fun. Besides this moment I am in now. I guess maybe this feeling will change as I get older but you know, there is a time for having fun and there’s a time not to have fun. In the times where I can have fun, I’m usually around fun people. I think even this moment that is occurring now is definitely a certain type of fun. I mean, it will be fun thinking about it later ten years from now.

Epic Scrabble games and road trips to Vegas. I try to keep it fun all the time. Playing basketball with your cousins in the village. Taking your niece to town. Meaningful conversations with the people you keep close, almost learning more about them in the talks. There is so many levels to fun and you should try to engage in all that you can. It’s a balance.

Thank you, I must go now.

The time traveler leaves the table and walks out the coffee shop. The waiter instantly walks to the booth and swings a baseball bat at the back of my head. I wake up from a nightmare and I’m in my bed. Was that even real?

Leave a Reply

