Taco Nights Stay

I have the fondest memories of the greatest nights, the infamous Taco Nights are what kept me happy growing up. Good food that was prepared by the loveliest individuals in my life. I may have mentioned in previous posts but there are two types of tacos in my philosophy, soft and hard.

Hard tacos are my favorite, I have no problem with soft tacos. Hard tacos just resonate passion in my taste buds. Maybe it’s the grease combining together the meat and shell. Whatever it is that has my belly satisfied, hard tacos get me tingly.

My Aunty Rachel was the one who showed me what a taco could be. Her hard tacos just filled my heart with joy. I’m able to make them now, well a version of how she makes hers. Good food equals good times. The definition of Taco Night was established at my Aunty’s, so I’m only trying to do her tacos justice. She would make enough tacos to fill two big cake pans. We would scarf down those tacos and laugh about what the time was bringing us.

Our older cousins gave us a preview of the world, they were like a decade ahead of us. My brother and I had a lot to learn from them during those nights, trading stories getting full from the tacos. It was a bonding experience now that I think about it, we all had something to face the next day. School and work in the morning. What else is new?

Fast forward to the now and my brother asks if I can make some hard tacos for dinner. My niece is hungry and we got the ingredients for a Taco Night. We sat at the table and then realized that a long time had gone by without us making tacos. It was a refreshing reminder about how much the specific tastes of our foods can make things better. Life, the day, the week, the night, the next day(leftovers), and just the overall spirit of being human. Great flavors ponder the memory and these Taco Nights connect me to the ones that mean the most. Food for thought.

IMG_0666.JPG

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

One thought on “Taco Nights Stay”

  1. I thought your line “specific tastes of our foods can make things better” is not only true, but brings to mind a small but significant part of a meal prayer an old veterinarian used to say “…and may You bless this food for the nourishment of our bodies.” Certain foods are not only good for the body, but healing for the soul!

Leave a Reply

