Thank You Poem

To be born and still alive has made me thankful for all I hold

The stars and their stories

Gave me a kind of understanding that placed me closer to the earth

The cold ocean of lights above my head

The Love I hold for family & close friends.


To be born and still alive has made me thankful for all I hold

The language and sounds of my father

I can speak to that man

Those children and my dear friends

The lovers rock in my pocket.


To be born and still alive has made me thankful for all I hold

The choices and where my feet touch

Walking on ocean shores and asphalt

Sacred mountains with saguaro cacti scattered

My home, the road, the dirt.


To be born and still alive has made me thankful for all I hold

Good moments and sad ones

I learn from those experiences and make sense of how I feel

I paint this in the picture and post

This is a poem for anyone but mainly you

Everyone is you, and you are this poem.

Leave a Reply

