The College Years: Too School For Cool

I had forgotten this story and was reminded today by a good friend of mine who is starting their first semester at the University of Arizona. Ah spring…

That campus has become a monument of great memories. And yet during those times I was experiencing the world. Challenging myself and really going after something I had plenty of time to think about. The steps were being laid out for me and I really wanted to do that trail justice. I had been out of that university world for while. I did attend ASU for two semesters, so I did feel confident on my first day of classes at the UofA. I knew my way around town. No sweat.

I was transferring from my tribal college Tohono O’odham Community College. The campus at TOCC is not as big as UofA’s and it just has a different kind of spirit. The classes were really small and the instructor-student relationships were more on a face-to-face-basis. Meaning the conversations blended well with the lecture and overall made great discussion for class. TOCC rocks.

I did have some intimidating thoughts transferring. Fear is a complex campus. You know having those thoughts of feeling uncertain in life can never be bigger than the passion and dream. We face obstacles everyday but nothing is the way you expect it. Completing my bachelor’s was the dream. TOCC gave me that symbolic hand to the university life. The studies and the day-to-day process, all that good stuff. I was ready for what I had coming, it was my the first day at the UofA. Afternoon class.

I come to class early and it’s in this big auditorium. Three rows of seating, people already are picking their seats. Always awkward to find that seat. The class is bigger than I thought it would be. And then the professor arrives and starts to adjust the projector. Class starts and students already have their books out. I felt out of place and began to wonder if I had missed an email or even missed the class due to reading the wrong time on the schedule.

The instructor is giving their introduction and then I start to pull out my laptop. Go straight to my schedule and I have the time right. But…

I’m in the right class..right.

I immediately make sure I have the right classroom. I read the room number wrong when I first entered. Talk about being at the wrong place at the wrong time. The building was correct and I still needed to find the right room. All I’m thinking about is making a bad impression showing up late on the first day of class.

I find the correct room and it’s barley starting. The instructor is running late herself and brushes off the time for stragglers. Their happy to start the semester and we begin class, the rest is history. Funny how you can be in the wrong place, at the same time still be in the best place because you know it’s right. I manage. Storiesfrommystomach. 2015/01/img_0703.jpg

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

