Clayton Loves Basketball

Every night on the court I give my all, and if I’m not giving 100 percent, I criticize myself.
-LeBron James

You know the storyline of the magic lamp that gets rubbed and out come this genie to grant you three wishes, this post is kinda like that. The dice was rolled and I awoke a beast…

One on one is always an option and yes if you want something done you should do it yourself but basketball was invented to be a team sport. Three on three’s makes things a bit more interesting. Even 21 with 3 changes the dynamic of what you can do in the game. I invited my old friend Clayton to come out and play ball with us at lunch.

I remember having weight training with Clayton in high school. He was older but I never played basketball with the dude, but I knew he had skill though. That’s why I called him out. I don’t know how he got his nickname? How does anyone get their nickname? But Clayton’s AKA is C-Love. And I will continue to call him C-Love for the rest of the post.

So C-Love had been coming out for a couple of weeks to play and it was a very natural thing. The simplicity of the game is what makes player great and C-love was schooling us from the start. I have a theory about types of basketball players and it’s not always the athletic skill that matters but the use of your words to communicate to your opponent. I mean if your able to mentally distract a player by wordplay or jokes then you can take down the best. I’m just saying that the game of basketball requires you to dribble mentally, the game is physical but you need to be thinking about the options and looking for resources available.

C-Love can play the game with his eyes closed and has a clever tongue to back up everything he dishes out. You have to guard him on the three point line because he can shoot and will if he has the space and time. Although he’s not afraid to take it in though. This dude uses the backboard like he’s playing ping pong getting those easy baskets, and easy wins. The kid can play.

Honestly C-Love brings this elevation to the court. If he’s playing then I know I’m in for a challenge because he gives a good game. I’m going against the real deal. He plays but he doesn’t play, get it.

You know before we all started playing basketball together C-Love hadn’t played in like ten years and by inviting him out he was set free. It’s like a bear or beast in hibernation and this beast is a basketball fiend. I woke that basketball beast and I’m pretty sure the game will never be the same because of it.

C-Love comes to play. Real talk.



Leave a Reply

