Good Trash Talk: Players Confessions

I think there is a certain feeling that Basketball gives me. My efforts are justified in what the rules say. My shot will not always go in but if I continue to shoot eventually things will start to drop. Day to day with my approach to the game and each time on the court is just another opportunity to steal and shoot. I know the rules, so let me play.

I had this wiseman many years ago tell me that, and this was suppose to be advice this man was giving me. He said You need to be the example. At first it didn’t rub me well and I always felt that I was nothing like anyone else. So why should I be an example for someone that is different. Even now I feel like I’m a bad example just because I did things a certain way. 

No ones perfect right…

I did make peace with that advice and I  understand the phrase a whole lot better. Good example or bad, there is still something to be seen. There are key choices on the table and when you follow though on a decision things just happen. We are connected to people, family or not, their actions and influences get taken for consumption. I guess the term example can have an expected ideal attached to it, and I honestly felt that was too much responsibility for one person. With Great Powers comes great responsibilities.

I give much credit to my people and playing basketball with strong individuals is only more strength for me to guard. My good friend C-Love comes to mind instantly, Clayton who us this full-time dad working, surviving on the planet and having a good time doing so. He is a one-of-a-kind guy making most of what he has to do in the world. I respect the man for his efforts and it is a uplifting time when we jam ball.

I guess what I’m saying is that we are all those examples. Regardless of anything you have the possibility to change and maneuver the future. I feel honored to be friends with C-Love and when we go face to face, I’m going against a great example. For real.

  

3 thoughts on “Good Trash Talk: Players Confessions

  1. That C-LOVE lives fast, but will probably die young. He thinks at times he’s immortal, but remembers the good times and forgest the worst times. Stay free.

Leave a Reply

