A Beekeeper’s Friend

If the bee dissapered off the surface of the globe then the man would only have four years of life left. No more bees, no more pollination, no more plants, no more animals, no more man.

– Albert Einstien    

If all my day-to-day responsibilities were taken away from me and I could put all my good energy into a cause, it would have to be agriculture. I would want to be farming, growing traditional plants using old methods.

I think as the world progressed, the seeds of the world scattered as the people spread. Individuals were planting seeds in new areas of the planet. And the modern advances of planting make it very easy to grow anything, anywhere. It’s great! Kudos to science and the human race for making agriculture what it is now! 

Yet, I have my but….

In a weird way, the world’s seed bank became a popularity contest. We’re planting what is demanded and wanted for consumption. I’m not saying our choices of seeds aren’t good enough, I just think  there is not enough emphasis on indigenous crops.

I guess I’m speaking of the region where I’m from. The south western part of North America (Arizona/Mexico area.) There are varaities of squash, beans, and corn that you cannot find or buy in a commercial grocery chain. Maybe on a small scale but I think I would enjoy spending my time growing squash, for the sake of preserving the taste of my ancestors and sharing these seeds that are important to me.

Beans are legumes and if you think about it, seeds are what we are eatting. A bowl of seeds for dinner. 

It’s not that I want to form this famous seed bank but I want to keep the taste of the land intact. Using my efforts to preserve the idea of keeping of a seed alive throughout time, and having proof off that life by the food being severed at the table.

  

Leave a Reply

