E-Girl And The Yellow Blue Bird

During one of our family road trips, we stopped off at this street fair event. I don’t know what that event was for, all I know is that there was a lot of people and my niece wanted to have her picture taken with this huge macaw. It was yellow and had light blue wings, it was a big bird. We all were hesitant about the idea, probably because we were all scared of this exotic bird. With those huge claws, and that beak, I myself was more comfortable watching the macaw from a distance. The tv from the couch to be exact.

The guy placed the macaw on her shoulder and the cameraman began to give her posing commands. Taking multiple pictures of this wild creature hanging out on my niece’s shoulder. She was a natural with this bird, at least it seemed at first. Then the bird had maybe gotten restless but it flapped its wings and moved his head closer to Elexis. He took off her glasses and my niece was the calmest out of all us.

Intrigued by the close interaction, she didn’t seem to mind that the macaw had done that. It was like if a celebrity were to compliment you on something you were wearing. I think that was how she took the gesture of the bird doing such a thing. I was in shock by her bravery and I had to rethink the things that scare me.

Kids be making me think.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

2 thoughts on “E-Girl And The Yellow Blue Bird”

  1. Ah, when you love something or someone very much, you can’t control your fears over everything they do. You hope for the best and trust they know what they are doing. E-Girl is brave.

Leave a Reply

