I Got A Page

Remember beepers?

Pagers had their prime in the 90’s. There might be people that still use them, but I would say that it has become obsolete in 2015. I miss the “beeper” because it was a simple device but it still meant that there was someone on the other end trying to contact you.

In a world where we rely on our smart phones to give us answers or lead us in the right direction, the beeper just did the one thing. The smart phone can pretty much do it all. It will electronically page whomever you allow it to page. It could page anyone, anywhere, awake or sleep, it just has an app for everything and it’s capabilities grow each day. The cell phone killed the beeper salesman.

I was too young to have a pager and the technological advancements in the world put me in the cell phone era. I still admired the beeper though, growing up, it was this cool electronic attachment that notified you when someone was trying to holla. It was business time when the pager goes off, clipped to my waist. Now I just need to find a phone.

Smartphones do make things easier, but getting that one page seemed to be a big deal back in the day.

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

