Popovers And Frybread Beef… Part Two

(Felix, Clayton, and Rob are driving)

Clayton: We always called them popovers. Someone, usually my Grandma would make a stack of popovers and we would chow down. We’d make bean popovers, chili popovers, popovers and stew, indian tacos. And nobody was fighting if popovers was on the menu. We were all happy.

Rob: Good times.

Felix: You know when I was at boarding school, all the other kids and staff called it frybread. To fit in, I guess I became accustomed to the word. Nobody ever corrected me when I used frybread.

Rob: Today must be your lucky day.

Clayton: Remember we use to say scoot over popover the beans are coming over, you know when you needed more space on the seat.

Rob: You think frybread is the commercialized term to describe this delightful bread.

Clayton: Perhaps the majority of the population is unaware that the word popover exist. They only know frybread when describing the greased up pancake dough.

Rob: I can taste it.

Clayton: Is it crazy to think that frybread may be the correct term only because most of the people call it that?

Felix: My favorite type of frybread is when it’s soft and elastic, it won’t lose it’s integrity by bending it.

Clayton: I like a little crisp on mine. I mean enough so it can still be bent, the crisp adds texture to the dish. I think it does.

Rob: Not the ones that are so crispy that it snaps in two when you try to make a sandwich. You still try to keep both sides together but it’s just a flimsy mess.

Clayton: That’s that shit I don’t like.

               Hey Jess is going to meet us there, she just text me

Rob: Tell her to come eat some frybread with us.

Clayton: You know what rocks my socks? A warm popover with honey, mmmm. Damn even when it’s gone, you still got the honey smell on your hands. Might even get on your shirt, you don’t mind. The grease and honey mixed together, that is science, or magic.

Felix:  I prefer powered sugar.

Rob: Me too, not as messy as honey, yet still sweet as hell.

Felix: I had a bad experience with honey, this one time at the carnival, you know how you see everyone at the carnival. Well I was putting on honey and I started to walk to the table. I then see an ex of mine, waiting in line to ride the spaceship in the distance. She is looking fine as ever and I wasn’t watching where I was going, I fell.

Rob: What did you trip over?

Felix: These damn kids playing on the floor. And when I fell, the popover fell too. It was crazy because the popover landed right side up but yet it had enough momentum to flip it honey right side down. I think I put too much honey on it. 

Clayton: What about your ex, did she see you fall?

Felix: No, I don’t think so.

Rob: Or maybe she did and she just didn’t want to have that awkward conversation about the ruined honey popover.

Felix: Probably.

Clayton: So you prefer powered sugar because there might be a chance you’ll run into your ex-girlfriend again?

Felix: I prefer powered sugar because if I were to fall again then I would just need to dust of the popover and go add some more powdered sugar. You can’t dust off honey, that stuff is glued in. 

Rob: Good story.

One thought on “Popovers And Frybread Beef… Part Two

  1. Ahh, the difference honey and sugar can make to a person. Interesting! Felix must have really been into the ex if it caused him to stare and trip. Love can make one do that. My opinion is that if you drop a cemait or popover, you should automatically drop down and do 10 pushups to honor possibly the death of something so yummy! “Rocks my socks”

Leave a Reply

