Something About Nothing… Part One…

(Clayton and Felix are in the living room)

Felix: Hey Clayton, would you say you are truly happy?

Clayton: Truly happy?

Felix: Yeah, you know the cards that you’ve been dealt? Life?

Clayton: Fairly truly

Felix: Fairly truly? Would you say more truly than fairly?

Clayton: Fairly

Felix: Come on, answer the question.

Clayton: I don’t know if I’m truly happy? What does that even mean? And how does truly make the meaning of the word happy any different.

Felix: A sincere meaning of the word? Does that kind of happiness exist in your day-to-day.

Clayton: Some days. I guess, I’m more truly happy than others on most days.

Felix: You think so?

Clayton: I have a weird relationship with happiness. We visit each other but we both know their are other things to feel. It’s not like I don’t want to be truly happy, yet I also need to be truly real. Shit happens. Death, heartbrake, identity theft.

Felix: So beautiful and still so hopeless.

Clayton: Wait, why are we talking about this? Why are you trying get me in my philosophical mind set?

Felix: I was reading this article about wellness and being happy in life. I just wanted to see how you felt about our time on earth. 

Clayton: Please don’t talk like that.

Felix: I spend a lot of my time complaining, passing judgement, never fully partisipating in society.

Clayton: Hey, you have a job, and honestly I actually prefer the miserable you. You challenge my reality and give me insight. Remember society needs a grump.

(Rob comes into the room)

Rob: Hey what’s up with you guys? What is going on tonight?

Felix: Hey Rob, are your truly happy in life?

Rob: Hell yeah, fuck yeah, I’m alive.

Felix: With no hesitation, your so sure?

Rob: I want to live my life to the fullest. Everyday I’m breathing, is just another opportunity for me to be awesome. And yes bummers do come from time-to-time, but I can’t let that keep me down. I just want to have fun maybe meet someone. Why all this sad talk?

Clayton: He read an article

Rob: The power of reading! Am I right? Felix reads one article and his entire universe is in shambles.

Felix: I’m not having a mid life crisis, I just want to know about how you guys felt on the matter?

Rob: Happiness sucks because it leads to nothing. Pain on the other hand, pain will bring you worth and growth. 

Clayton: The good music and the arts that matter. It’s pain driven.

Felix: I just don’t know if I’m truly truly happy?

One thought on “Something About Nothing… Part One…

  1. Ah, how one question can create a meaning to someones life. Happiness is what no one can take from a person, I think it’s a choice to be happy, if you let someone take it, that’s on you, not them. Awesome post, kid!

Leave a Reply

