Living Out A Song: Born To Rock…

What was the #1 song when you were born? 

I did not actually expect Bon Jovi’s Livin’ on a Prayer to be the number one song when I was born. You know my Mom always said that song Sweet Child of Mine by Guns and Roses was kinda my baby song. But I guess they got popular when I was a toddler. Maybe living on a prayer wasn’t the correct tempo for my walk. 

I guess this guestion gets me thinking about the musical timeline of our lives. I mean there are all these varieties of rock music and I was a child born in the prime of 80’s Rock/Metal. I really can’t relate to the song because I’ve never really jammed the track. Wanted Dead or Alive is a cool song, but I was always Nirvana and Pearl Jam. Later bands like System of a Down and Deftones defined the energy of my inner sounds.

I do dig the set up of the band Bon Jovi, always have respect for a lead singer that plays guitar/bass too. Not some ego maniac calling their voice an instrument. I think it shows commitment to the music because the voice is infront of the music. The voice needs guitar, drums, and bass when it comes to being heavy. So by being tied to the music it shows dedication to the overall sound.

If I was born in the 60’s would I appreciate older varieties of rock? 

I told my Mom about the Livin’ on a Prayer song being my birthday jam, she definitely had another interpretation of the song. Her song was I’m a Believer by the Monkees, so she felt that song title represented her personality. I am a believer. 

There was a moment in time when my life was on the verge of ending. Lucky and blessed to live to see another day, I was dealing with head trauma, terrible burns on both legs. My wrists were broken, sometimes it seems like I lost a few things (figuratively, symbolically, and honestly.) But not to be so one sided in the situation, I also gained a new meaning of life. I lived to see more than that tragic event and maybe at one point I was living on a prayer.

I have the best support from my family and friends. My Mom has always encouraged me to do my best. I had no control, everything that happened to me, I feel even though I’m healed, I’m thanking a higher power to be alive.

My spiritual being knows that I have  things to accomplish. It was such a huge event because there was a chance of me not surviving that car crash. I believe it was the prayers that I got from everyone that kept me in this place. Life.

2 thoughts on “Living Out A Song: Born To Rock…

  1. You have much to offer this world, people at that. Things may have been lost in that accident…bones broken. Your spirit, your soul, the poetry you emulate can never be broken. I have never understood the extent “life” feels the need for us to see, to understand, by throwing these difficult obstacles before us. Some worse than others. But you Sky are meant for so much more. I’m glad you see that. Thanks to all those loving people that saved you with the help of our creator. I would have never had the pleasure and that I am truly thankful for.

Leave a Reply

