My Anchor…

  

We went on a family road trip to San Diego this past summer. It was a trip I truly needed to survive. This was a great opportunity to bond with my niece Elexis, her first time seeing the ocean, we chased and ran from the waters. My Brother drove us around in Cali, so it was my niece and I chatting in the back seat.

One evening we have to wait for a table at this diner. There is a big crowd, Elexis and I take a walk, they said a forty minuet wait. We had time to explore and see the landscape. There was a big cement flower bed that was in the shape of a anchor. It was so big Elexis couldn’t tell what she was standing all over. 

What’s a anchor?

Shortly after we see a map of the park and property. They have the large anchor, of course it’s on a small scale. I show Elexis what a anchor is and it all makes sense now. We finally get our dinner.

So the very next morning we wake up and turn on the cartoons, SpongeBob to be exact. And we’re watching. 

Hey there’s a anchor 

She was right, there was a few anchors, come on, it’s introduced by a pirate. This happened a couple of times, I mean we’re in Cali. Anchors are everywhere. My brother even got a San Diego shirt, big anchor in the center. Elexis definitely learned a new word that trip but it meant something more to me.

The word or term Anchor has a rich meaning and being the one to explain the simple definition, I’m proud. I want to be of any help for my niece and to see her learn so quick, she is just a great kid. These complex ideas of words and their meanings take some time to grasp. I just know one day me and Elexis will revisit this Anchor discussion.

Leave a Reply

