Wisdom 104: Discussion Question

How do you define the term “soulmate,” and do you believe in the existence of such a person — for you?
I am going to go deep, where my head went first when I saw the question. Currently in my life I am getting back into making music. I am working with a young group of guys that are a dark rock hip-hop project called Visual Doom. It’s more of a open universe to possibility. The core group started in high school but somewhere after that they met up with me and I became the “producer.”

I use the word lightly because I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing. And maybe that is why I enjoy it so much. They challenge me and they are inviting me into a huge moment in their life. So I’m learning and it’s been about two years since we linked up. 

You know but I am just a facilitator  for the guys. They’ve been writing and developing their own swag, yet these guys are talking about things relevant to the reservation life. Topics like alcohol use and sucide, just to name a few but sucide awareness was the topic of the song we were working on this past weekend.

I mean in sucide we lose someone, it’s a double realization because it’s two mortalities. The person gone and yourself, when they leave a bond still grows from it. And from my point of view these young men are spilling their guts, it’s messages from these situations of sucide. You know something we might deal with in our time. I mean no harm when I say this, it’s just a unknown thing about life.

We lose people important in our lives and these guys are speaking about those connections. I mean whatever relationship they had, it is inspiring this voice to talk about what suicide looks like from their perspective. I mean these connections are meaningful and I would even consider it being a soulmate relationship.

I think the term “soulmates” can be something other than a romantical relationship. I mean we connect to people throughout our lives and not everyone one can groove the same. So what I’m saying is that, yes, I do believe in the term soulmate. And I believe if your are blessed then you might have a couple. Get it. 

The soul is unique, it has layers of truth within and to find a person that can entertain and move your soul is a special thing. 

Maybe my soul just gets around.

One thought on “Wisdom 104: Discussion Question

  1. I identify with that completely. I too believe my soul gets around. My soul is my radar for souls alike. It can detect and connect and they are forever bonded in life and death. I agree. I believe once my soul attaches it’s hard to forget me. The truths you speak of are definitely real and the soul knows. The hardest thing about connecting is the disconnecting feeling you feel when there is a piece of your soul missing. I’m digging it Sky.

Leave a Reply

