What Do You Feel Like Eating?

Such an everyday concept, what will I eat today?

It becomes a different story when your driving to the city and your with your Mom. It was a Sunday morning and my Mom and I drove to Tucson to do some shopping and take care of a few errands. We left our house without breakfast, we needed food, so that was our first destination.

Where do you want to eat?

I could go for anything

Well, what do you feel like eating?

What do you feel like eating?

I asked you first

But I said I could go for anything.

Well, pick something 

You pick something 

What?

Something 

I could eat anything 

I already said that

We eventually decided to eat at this Mexican place that has a buffet. Their food is the bomb and I would always eat here with my mom when I was still in college. It would be usually during the week so this might have been our first time eating there on a Sunday. I guess this is one of our mother-son places to eat.

When we arrive to restaurant the parking lot is full and we almost changed our mind because it might be too packed. It’s steady when we usually go but I’ve never had to wait for a table. We still get down, I open the door and it’s music. It was not too packed, maybe all the cars were the Marachi band members all individually showing up to the restaurant.


The Marachi band plays every Sunday and we caught the show. I was on cloud nine, great food plus these musicians are serenading our souls. This was a treat to stumble upon this band, and then I look towards my Mom and she’s crying.

Me all robotic, I was questioning my Mom about her tears. The song they were playing was De Colores I remember the song from elementary school, every first of the month our school would have an assembly and they would end it with the song De Colores. That’s what I remembered when the band started to play the song.

My Mom may have had another interpretion of the song. Music has powers and can take you to places in a instant. Tears of joy maybe, we enjoy our meal and pay the bill.

One thought on “What Do You Feel Like Eating?

Leave a Reply

