John Fogerty Was My Homie…

I think my parents gave me a strange sense of music, I don’t mean that in a bad way. I mean their taste in music gave me inspiration to find other things when I could. I was really into metal and hip-hop/rap stuff, r&b jams. But growing up I remember driving around with my dad blasting Credence Clearwater Revival.

He listened to Bob Seger and Ted Nugent, Rolling Stones, Tina Turner. My Mom was into Pat Benatar, Rod Stewart, John Mellencanp, Journey. I have grown to appreciate all these artists and even rock with some. My older cousins introduced me the Snoop, and Dr. Dre, Jodeci.

Wither we wanted to hear it or not, this is what was playing. You know one of my biggest musical memories growing up was my Aunt Heidi. She had a wooden box in her house,it was a treasure chest of music. It was full of CDs, Sade, Mary J Blige, Brandy and Monica, R Kelly. It was everything I wanted, and seeing her relationship to this music, that just was an inspiration for me to fill my own box of music.

All these taste buds from my family, gave me the confidence to find new music and rediscover old.

Leave a Reply

