Confessions: A story in my stomach…

When I was born, it was my parents first child, they had made an agreement with each other when they found out a child was on the way. If it was a girl, my Mom would name the newborn and if it was a boy, my Dad would be the name giver. Where does a name come from?

So I came out a boy, and the rest is history. My Dad didn’t know what to name his first son. Aw such a symbolic thing to do, naming your first born. There was inspiration calling him, he stood outside the hospital thinking about this name. My name could be girl’s name and suddenly you realize your under this big thing. My Dad looked up and I was Sky.

There are many elements to the story and that agreement set things in place for me to be me. When you start school, first thing you do is learn to write your name. If my Mom had the choice, I would have been writing Valentino on all my colored butcher paper drawings. Since my birthdate happens to fall on the Valentine’s Day, she wanted to name me Valentino.

I’ll take Sky, thank you. Now change my pamper.

I do the blog thing because I’ve always been into telling stories and listening to people tell them too. I don’t have a real agenda when it comes to the blog, besides producing content. It started out with me commenting on food idioms and now it’s whatever what comes out. The name Storiesfrommystomach just fits on all these levels, the stories I tell are not always true but they do touch on the realness of my life.

I feel there is a platform for my thoughts and ideas. I mean there are times when I do question myself Is this something you really want to be doing? And I do wonder if this is still working out? I think that is why I haven’t made an agenda yet, I don’t want it to become a chore list. Basketball season is starting so I expect a bunch of basketball posts in the future. 

Author: storiesfrommystomach

I am from a Village called South Komelik on the Tohono O'odham Nation. I enjoy poetry and philosophy. Hope you enjoy the blog! :)

Leave a Reply

