A Man And His Daughter…

The drive home from work, John listens to the hip-hop station on the ride home. This was his time to release and reflect on the day, just unwind on the road. Driving can be spiritual with the right kind of music playing, the routine of returning home was heroic. 

John drives into the yard, there is a car parked off to the side of the house. Not a recognizable ride, John goes into the house.

Hello, who’s car is parked out there?

John, I have been waiting for you to arrive. The car parked outside belongs to our new friends.

John, it’s very nice to finally meet you, my name is James and this my daughter Miranda.

Hi, do I know you from somewhere?

You see John, James and Miranda aren’t from here, they are from Mexico. 

Oh, what brings you this way?

John, son, James wants to purpose something to you, I know this is out of the blue, but I really think you should listen to him. Think about what he is asking.

I know a few things about you, and I must share some things about myself first. I grew up very traditional and had a strong upbringing with family and culture. I am strong because of how I grew up.

We are living in a different time, compared to my younger years. Now I am old and sick, I lost my wife  a few years ago, all I have is my daughter. 

Miranda is my everything, she has a life to live, she has great potential. I know she will make you a very happy man.

Wait, wait, me?

You see son, it was a common gesture or normal way of doing things back then. A father would give his daughter away to a man he respected. And that man is you, I’m so proud of you. You got yourself a wife.

Wait, your on board with this situation?

I know some people will talk, but who cares. Be happy. I support you on anything you choose. Although I also know it would be a slap in the face if you decline his offer.

John, I know this might be unconventional in your way of doing things. I do know your not married, this might be something to consider. I offer you my daughter’s hand in marriage.

I’m flattered, and surprised, yet I feel weird because your daughter doesn’t even know me. How does she feel about this?

I am fine with my father’s desicion.

You see there is a reason why I’m not married, I’m not the easiest person to get along with. I just can’t see where a wife would fit in my life now. 

I will learn to love you and live to serve you in our life we build.

Welcome to the family.



Leave a Reply

