Open Water 

There was this trip we had taken to California when we were little, before my Dad passed away we went to San Diego for a graduation/ceremony thing for my cousin.  My first time visiting the ocean, I was in love with this superior force surrounding me. I remember my parents being concerned that I was too far into the water.  It was this abyss of human emotions, possibly being swallowed whole into a earth unknown.

I made a companion that day, it was a introduction of what my life could be. Something so powerful was my friend and each day we would met after was a celebration of that first time, it was a connection to my soul. 

I’m floating on land, levitating around uncontrollably trying to justify a surface. In the Ocean I am grounded and all my fears wash away with each step in, I become more and more safe.

Leave a Reply

