The Orgin Of Homeboy

The world is a cold and brutal landscape, where we come from matters. I think this is where the term originated for myself, having to deal with this idea of not being home. But being away and trying to deal with any situation that occurs. It helps to know someone in this heartless place. A “homeboy” of mine is someone I can respect and is a person that has my back. The homeboy is just another soul trying to make it in this game of life. Homeboy has ambitions too, he cares for our fun times and will go through the impossible to help out his fellow homeboy. There is no limits to a homeboy, it kinda reflects on the individual homeboy within. 

A homeboy is someone I know from back in the day. They are grounded in the soil of my existence. My homeboys are all down for my cause, we’re all on the same level, we pick each other up and knock each other down. We’re wild and free, to each his own, my homies come and find me in my zone. We gather around the circle and clown on each other. It’s all about these moments, we ain’t fighting or fussing because we homies.

I have seen some dark days in my time and continue to experience this uphill battle, yet I’m good, I’m protected, I have homies.

Leave a Reply

