Basketball Journal Entry

The stars are not always visible on certain nights, these past couple months have been a challenge for me to write posts about my day-to-day experiences. At one point I was normally reflecting on a moment and I could form enough words to tell my side of things. I think at certain times life can move at this fast pace and when this happens it becomes easier to get lost in your own thoughts. The stars are not always visible, yet they are still there glowing. 

I been in this basketball world, I also have been hanging out with my cousin Calvin. We’ll be watching the NBA channel all day, Hardwood Classics, it’s old games from  the 80s, 90s, even last year’s games. Bulls versus the Jazz, Lakers and Pistons. It was my cousin Calvin and his two younger brothers that got me into basketball, they would play pick up games at the park during the time we lived in Tucson. I remember them competing amongs themselves at the court behind my Aunty Rachael’s house in Little Tucson. These guys  symbolically gave me my mojo when it comes to basketball. If I’m not watching it, then I’m playing it, if I’m not playing, then I’m writing about it. Now I’m coaching it. My world is Basketball, and the game is the dragon consuming the town, everything is in flames.

I have my opinions, when it comes to next season with the NBA. I honestly felt that Durant was the X-factor for Golden State this year. I mean they have a roster of talent but with the addition of KD, the team became a powerful force not to be messed with. They said Durant took a pay cut, to create that squad and it definitely paid off because they went on to win the championship. I had betted against them too, I thought Lebron and Kyrie were going to be on point, no dice. 

So a few weeks ago I’m in the car listening to the radio and the commentator starts talking about Curry. During the playoffs, the media coverage portrayed Curry and Durant as the two go-to-guys for Golden State. Stephen Curry has been the superstar/poster child for the Warriors prior, he is great by the way. The commentator was impressed with the amount Curry will be making, recently renegotiated his contract with Golden State and would probably be the highest paid player in the league. He deserves every penny, and yet all I could think of was KD. He might be the only one working harder than Curry and with Durant on the roster, the team has someone to hold the team down by being that superstar player to represent the team. I felt that his pay should be reevaluated as well. None of my business but a player should get what they deserve and in this case KD had enough content to bring up that conversation. Just saying.

Kyrie might be leaving the Cavs… Derrick Rose is coming to Cleveland on a one year contract. The madness is overwhelming, not really. I was little happy to hear this about Kyrie, if he does want to lead rather than be led then we are going to see a new chapter for the incredible player. Players get traded to other teams, it happens. If that is true because we don’t know, I didn’t talk to Kyrie. We only hear the media’s explanation, but if he needs to change his surroundings then we should let him be. I know his skills will only be put in new situations and that could elevate his style. Same for Lebron.

Another story in the NBA to follow is the Ball family, Lonzo ball did play one year for UCLA and was drafted to the Lakers this past summer. The real spokesman for Lonzo Ball has been his dad, Lavar Ball has been hyping up his sons talents in the media for quite sometime. Lavar loves all his boys and believes they are the future of basketball. So this upcoming year will be all eyes on the Ball, did Lavar write any checks  Lonzo cannot cash?

The LA Lakers is big team to hold up, espically your first year in the league, remember we got the Warriors up the road. 

Fashion and basketball somehow became fused into each other over time. Growing up and even outside of the basketball world, the shoes you have on matter. People can make a judgments on you by what you wear on your feet. Basketball players who were successful and they had their own shoe, they had influence on the fashion choices for the masses. Everyone want the new Jordans. The more exclusive, the more expensive. 

My niece is getting ready to go back to school and I wanted to get her new shoes for the new school year. Growing up we had shoes, our mom took care of us. I am very greatful for what she did for us. 

There is a new Foot Locker on the south side of Tucson, so I suggest we check it out the new store and see if they got any shoes for Elexis. We see the Kyrie’s and their maroon with a pink Nike swoosh, they look pretty cool. 

I want her to get the shoes but I want her to try on another shoe just to see a difference. All the shoes we want to try on, they don’t have the size. Their Jordan selection was impressive, they had these retro Jordan’s that were light blue, Elexis approves, they have the size. The general plan before we went into store was to buy one pair. She likes the Jordan’s and I want her to have the Kyrie’s. We get them both. 

I want her to have the shoes, yet I also want her to have the shoes I would want. Does that make sense? We leave the story happy.

Leave a Reply

