Grandma’s Boy

I am trying to get a better grip of my responsibilities, the tasks I give myself and the challenges given to me by others. I’m not just talking about people, I’m really describing the universe and all it’s wisdom it holds for me. I must be willing to gain from an experience, something given to me each of the days  I am only trying to be a better me in the world. The day did have a plan and it was suppose to be a smooth ride to the evening time, but that’s not what has to happen…

Yesterday evening around 9:00 o’clock, my Grandma calls me. I been so busy these past couple of weeks, so I really haven’t visited my grandma lately during the week. Coaching and helping my friends record their music, I have something going all week. I know, no excuses…

Hey Grandma.

Hey Sky, when you get off of work, you think you could pick me up a few things from the store?

Yeah, of course, what do you need?

Can you get me some flour, six bannons (bananas) and some milk.

I can get that for you, I get off a little late but I’ll drop it off when I get back.

That’s fine, don’t worry about it and I’ll pay when you get here.

What kind of flour do I get?

Get the bird. They should have one for eight dollars, get that one. Remember to get six bannons.

What kind of milk do you want?

Get me a gallon of 2%. Were out of milk.

Okay Grandma, anything else?

I think that’s it, remember the bannons, probably need six of them.

I’ll see you after work Grandma. 

Thanks. I’ll see you. Bye.

Tuesday’s are my practice days, it’s the middle of the week pretty much, we got a tournament this weekend, every second counts. I never miss a Tuesday practice, 3:00pm and get the word that we have to stay late. There wasn’t even a time given, a reference or even an estimation. I let the other coaches know I’ll be late. It was after 7:00pm when I left work, practice was over,  empty courts were the only thing left…

I still needed to goto the store for my grandmas, her list, I did not forget, I went to get them 6 bannons. The local grocery store is a blast from the past, you always see someone you haven’t seen for awhile. Maybe someone you weren’t ready to see, someone that wasn’t ready to see you. Anywho I get the blue bird, 6 bannons, and gallon of milk 2%. 

When I get to my grandmas she watching America’s Got Talent, she likes these competition/singing shows. And it’s prerecorded too, she’ll fast forward through the comercials and never lose momentum. I get comphy on the couch, watching the talent, maybe get a little too involved, holding back tears. Lose track of time, forget that I must get home.

My Grandma always lets me know that her house is my house. I am her first born grandchild and to be able to make my Grandma proud is the best feeling ever. I realize the time and leave after the show ends.

She asked for six bannons, I got her seven.

 

 

Leave a Reply

